about the AWARDS

2019 will mark the 31st anniversary of the Hokonui Fashion Design Awards - a significant achievement as the longest running fashion design awards of their type in New Zealand.  


Held in Gore in late July, the awards are firmly established as a key event on the national fashion calendar and continue to attract entries and interest from throughout New Zealand.  Since 1988, the awards have been a competitive platform for all amateur fashion designers to showcase their designs in front of well-regarded industry leaders. Over the previous years the judging panel has included Karen Walker, Nic Blanchet, Francis Hooper, Trelise Cooper, Kate Sylvester, Liz Findlay, Doris Du Pont and Margi Robertson (of NOM*d).


Entries for the 2019 Hokonui Fashion Design Awards open on 1 February.

© 2018 Hokonui Fashion Design Awards.

All rights reserved.

Designed by Jacqueline Byars Design